Houston College of Education Information and Career Counselling

Australian Post-study work visa Extensions

It has been announced by the Australian Prime Minister (Scott Morrison) that the citizens of Japan and Korea along with fully vaccinated eligible visa holders will be allowed to travel to Australia from 15 December 2021. This announcement has gone a long way to provide a huge relief for both prospective and returning international students alike. 

Despite the new emerging obstacles the Australian Federal Government plans to welcome visitors and students from overseas. International students who are fully vaccinated with a vaccine recognized by the territory or a vaccine that is Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) approved do not need to apply for travel exemption as of now. However, if you are deemed ineligible (unvaccinated or been to a country listed on the travel restricted list in the last 14 days), you may be able to travel to Australia with a travel exemption or under an International Student Arrival Plan.

The TGA is currently evaluating other vaccines, meanwhile, here are some TGA approved COVID-19 vaccines categorized on the basis of amount of doses necessary to be considered fully vaccinated:

Two doses (taken at least 14 days apart):

AstraZeneca Vaxzevra
Astrazeneca  Covishield
Pfizer/Biontech Coronavac
Moderna Spikevax
Sinovac Coronavac
Bharat Biotech Covaxin
Sinopharm BIBP-CorV (for 18-60 year olds)

One dose:

Johnson & Johnson/Janssen-Cilag COVID Vaccine

Note: You are considered fully vaccinated only after seven days have passed since your last dose of one of the above mentioned vaccines.

Furthermore, international students will need to fill up an entry form and present a unique QR code generated by linking information taken from the Australian Immunization Register with your passport which is given along with an International COVID-19 Vaccination Certificate (ICVC) or a foreign vaccination certificate which meets the requirements outlined by the Australian Passport Office Website to the airlines and border authorities.